TV Heaven


Last night I got around to watching some of the things stored up on my sky plus. After barely switching on the TV for a week I was disappointed to see this wouldn’t take long. Where have all the good TV shows gone?! I love to watch TV, here are some of the things I like…

Eastenders, well this is on all the time. It is my own little religion. Even my dog is trained to know she gets food after the duff, duffs. Sometimes I think I’ll give up with it but I don’t think I can. I used to watch all the soaps and one by one I dropped them. I think I will always have time for Eastenders.

Image

Game of Thrones – The next series isn’t due to start until next year. This show is amaze balls! I really can’t get enough of it. I feel like I need to write notes as I’m watching just to keep up. I wouldn’t usually like something with so many characters and plot lines but this show has me hooked.

Image

Bedlam – this is new and is on sky at the moment, I’m really enjoying it but I can’t see where it’s going. It’s all based on some mystery which is unfolding each episode. But if it’s all revealed then I don’t know where it can go next, I’ll have to wait and see.

Image

The Only Way is Essex – I am part of a secret fan club of two. I love this show, it makes a mockery of intelligent life forms at times but it is my guilty pleasure. It has changed my vocabulary for the worse and has me cringing / tearing my hair out / crying / laughing hysterically at every single episode.

Image

X Ray – This is a regional program that helps people out when things go wrong. Like when you take your car to a garage and you get ripped off. Have no fear because Lucy’s on the case! I like the drama of it all and also that someone / somewhere you know might pop up. I love watching a program and being able to say “I’ve been there!”

Image

Sex and the City – I’ve watched every single episode and the films. When I very first got sky plus I recorded them all from start to finish. I watched two episodes a night and was totally bereft when I ran out. If I catch the series at the start again I will quite happily do it again. I even liked the films!

Image

Misfits – This is on E4 and I took a while to click on to it, if I had read a review I definitely would not have watched it. A gang of teenagers doing community service get hit by a bolt of lightning and take on super powers. I don’t know how I started watching it but I’m so glad I did.

Image

Plus one – This turned up on 4OD and is a few years old. I thought I’d give it a bash and found it hilarious. It’s about a guy who gets dumped by his girlfriend to go and marry ‘Duncan from Blue’. Every episode is him trying to get a plus one to the wedding who will out-do Duncan. I watched all 5 episodes of the series in one go and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Image

South Park – I’ve been watching south park since I was around 12 and I found it funny then but didn’t get everything. I still probably don’t ‘get’ everything now but am always amazed by how funny and clever it is.

Image

Stars in their eyes – This is a few years old but this is one of my all-time favourite shows. It was usually watched along with Gladiators which has been re-hashed onto sky and is terrible and blind date which cannot be done again without Cilla Black who isn’t actually dead but is in a rightful retirement.  I would really like to see Stars in their Eyes back on TV with the right presenter. I loved the catchphrase “and tonight Matthew” and I really liked the magic of them going through the smoky doors and coming back out moments later transformed into their idol. It was pure cheese entertainment but I much preferred that to x-factor / the voice etc. I think I’d like it back because there was never any expectations of the contestant. You just went on, did a cheesy video which included ‘clues’ about who you might be and maybe you might get to the final. After that you weren’t expected to do anything. I wonder what happened to the guy who won that year, the one singing lady in red? Well, not a lot probably!

Image

Gavin and Stacey – Have this on box set and can quite easily watch it over and over on GOLD. I love all the characters and I don’t care what they say about quitting while you’re ahead, just look at Only Fools and Horses! I think they should keep going. I want Christmas specials, I want new series and I want it now! I hate that a brilliant series can just end when there is more energy left in it.

Image

Celebrity Juice – Even my boyfriend Jon has started watching this with me when it’s on. He was intrigued by the way I was laughing so much. I love Keith Lemon and Holly Willoboobie, still not keen on Ferne which is great because Keith takes the piss out of her! I love the silliness and I genuinely belly laugh at every episode. “If I don’t see you through the week, I’ll see you through the window!”

Image

Spooks – This has ended and unlike Gavin and Stacey I can understand why. This doesn’t stop being one of my favourite programs though. I loved the thrill, I loved the suspense and I weirdly loved that every series ended with some awful cliff hanger that made me want to dive into a self-induced coma until the next series had started.

Image

Mrs Browns Boys – I love this show, I first watched in Ireland a couple of years ago with Jon’s Mammy. It was like spending half an hour with every funny old man I knew. I love Mammy and the fact that he / she improvises the lines so much. I love it that the other actors can’t keep a straight face and the farcicalness of it all makes me so glad it’s on TV over here. I will always have time for this show.

Image

This is England 86 / 88 (but not the film) – I started with the Christmas special and then worked my way backwards through the series. It’s a bit dark but it is really well written. I like it that it all seems vaguely familiar. I love Joseph Gilgun, he is also in Misfits. I really want another series!

Image

An Idiot Abroad – This is another show that has me giggling away. I really don’t like Ricky Gervais but I can ignore him in this. Karl Pilkington gives his take on different parts of the world. The only downside is, he’s put me off wanting to do some things. Like when he went into the jungle to see gorillas in the wild. I always wanted to do that sort of thing until I saw him trekking for hours in humid heat, sweating his ass off and being eaten alive by insects. It has me in stitches and I also have his diary too. He’s no Judith Chalmers, but I like him!

Image

TV executive’s please take note!

3 thoughts on “TV Heaven

      • What! Oh dear lord know… Let me think… I really got into White Heat on BBC I Player… Dexter if you haven’t seen is the most incredible series and I would recommend till my last breath…and new on Channel 4, Revenge, US series, on adverts all the time but definitely one to watch! 🙂 Hope you like or some lol

Leave a Reply

